McLouth USD 342 Board of Education Regular Meeting May 13, 2024

A. Call the Meeting to Order – President Heather Coit called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

B. Roll Call

Board members present: Mr. Tony Barnes, Mrs. Heather Coit, Mr. Paul Haverkamp and Mr. Terry Reiling Board members absent: Mr. James Copeland and Mrs. Tara Garrow

Also present: Mr. Jerome Johnson, Mrs. Lorie Patterson, Mrs. Melissa Miller, Mr. J.D. Nelson, Ms. Allison Barnes, Ms. Elizabeth Higbee, Mr. David Howard and Ms. Beverly Muzzy

- **C. Approval of the Agenda** Mr. Haverkamp moved to approve the agenda as presented. Mr. Barnes seconded. Motion carried 4-0.
- D. Consent Agenda Mr. Barnes moved and Mr. Reiling seconded the motion to accept the Consent Agenda. The Consent Agenda consisted of the following items: a. Approval of Minutes from April 8, 2024 Regular Board Meeting and April 24, 2024 Special Board Meeting; b. Approval of Check Registers; c. Accept Treasurer's Report; d. Approve Disposal of Softball Jackets; e. Approval of McLouth School Programs/Students to Utilize Equipment for Summer Camps as Allowed by KSHSAA; f. Approve Disposal/Recycling of Tech Items with "Recycle Max"; and g. Accept the Resignations of Ms. Allison Barnes-Sophomore Class Sponsor, Ms. Johnna Bradford-Middle School Stuco Sponsor, Ms. Kassidee Beadle-Title I Para and Ms. Abby Davison-Title I Para. The motion carried 4-0.
- E. Comments from the President President Coit highlighted activities that she attended at the school during the month.

F. Administrative Reports

- a. Superintendent Mr. Reiling moved to approve the middle school volleyball jerseys. Mr. Haverkamp seconded. Motion carried 4-0.
- b. Elementary Principal
- c. Secondary Principal and AD
- **G.** Request to Speak Ms. Allison Barnes and Ms. Elizabeth Higbee spoke to the board regarding the assistant high school cheerleading sponsor position.
- **H.** Discussion and Approval of FSMC–Food Service Management Company Mr. Johnson provided information and Mr. David Howard answered questions.
 - Mrs. Garrow arrived at 7:20 p.m.
 - Mrs. Garrow moved to approve the contract with OPAA starting with the 2024-2025 school year for a five-year contract that renews each year. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- I. Discussion and Approval of DW Server Upgrade for Camera System Discussion
 - Ms. Gina Holwick entered the meeting via phone at 7:50 p.m. to answer questions and left the meeting at 8:02 p.m. Mr. Haverkamp made a motion to table the server upgrade to the next meeting. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- **J. Discussion and Approval of Fees** Mr. Barnes moved to approve the student fees and activity fees as presented. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- **K.** Discussion of New Accounting Software Discussion-Mr. Haverkamp made a motion to table the new accounting software to the June meeting. Mr. Barnes seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- L. Keystone Update Mr. Reiling provided an update.

- M. Executive Session Mrs. Garrow made a motion to go into executive session to discuss potential hires pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 8:50 p.m. Mrs. Garrow invited Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 8:50 p.m. Mr. Haverkamp made a motion to return to executive session to discuss potential hires pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 8:55 p.m. Mr. Haverkamp invited Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 8:55 p.m. Mr. Barnes made a motion to return to executive session to discuss potential hires pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 9:05 p.m. Mr. Barnes invited Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 9:05 p.m. Mr. Barnes made a motion to return to executive session to discuss potential hires pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 9:15 p.m. Mr. Barnes invited Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 9:15 p.m.
- N. Action Following Executive Session Mr. Reiling moved to approve the supplemental list as presented with the addition of Ms. Elizabeth Higbee as the high school assistant cheer sponsor and Ms. Allison Barnes as a senior class sponsor. Mr. Barnes seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Haverkamp made a motion to add a third section of fifth grade for a one-year term. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mrs. Garrow moved to hire Mr. Gary Brummet as a Title paraprofessional. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Haverkamp moved to transfer Ms. Lauren Boschert from kindergarten paraprofessional to Title paraprofessional. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Barnes moved to hire another high school assistant football coach if the participation numbers reach 35. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- **M.** Executive Session Mr. Haverkamp made a motion to go into executive session to discuss an issue of student conduct pursuant to the exception relating to actions adversely or favorably affecting a student under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 9:25 p.m. Mr. Haverkamp invited Mr. Johnson into executive session. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Johnson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 9:25 p.m.
- O. Other
- **P.** Adjourn Mrs. Coit adjourned the meeting at 9:27 p.m.

Mrs. Heather Coit, President

Mrs. Lorie Patterson, Clerk