## McLouth USD 342 Board of Education Special Board Meeting June 25, 2024

A. Call the Meeting to Order – President Heather Coit called the meeting to order at 7:45 p.m.

## B. Roll Call

Board members present: Mrs. Heather Coit, Mr. James Copeland, Mrs. Tara Garrow, Mr. Joe Mahon, Mr. Paul Haverkamp and Mr. Terry Reiling Board members absent: Mr. Tony Barnes Also present: Mr. Jerome Johnson and Mrs. Lorie Patterson

- **C.** Approval of the Agenda Mr. Copeland moved to approve the agenda as presented. Mr. Haverkamp seconded. Motion carried 6-0.
- D. Closing of Fiscal Activities for 2023-2024 Discussion-Mrs. Coit made a motion to transfer \$80,000 to the textbook fund. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mrs. Coit moved to transfer \$45,000 to the special education fund and \$42,000 to the at-risk fund. Mr. Haverkamp seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mrs. Garrow moved to approve the requisitions as presented with the exception of the printed chairs and the bleachers. If necessary, capital outlay funds may be used. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 6-0.
- **E.** Approval of Check Registers Mr. Reiling moved to approve the check registers as presented. Mr. Mahon seconded. Motion carried 6-0.
- **F. Insurance** Discussion-Mr. Haverkamp moved to purchase the district insurance through the Kansas Educational Risk Management Pool, LLC (KICS). Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 6-0.
- G. Executive Session Mrs. Garrow made a motion to go into executive session to discuss personnel matters pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 8:56 p.m. Mrs. Garrow invited Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson attended executive session. Mrs. Patterson left executive session at 8:50 p.m.

The board returned to open session at 8:56 p.m. Mr. Copeland made a motion to return to executive session to discuss personnel matters pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 9:02 p.m. Mr. Copeland invited Mr. Johnson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 9:02 p.m. Mr. Haverkamp made a motion to return to executive session to discuss personnel matters pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 9:07 p.m. Mr. Haverkamp invited Mr. Johnson into executive session. Mr. Copeland seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson into executive session. Mr. Copeland seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson into executive session. Mr. Copeland seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson into executive session. Mr. Copeland seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson into executive session. Mr. Copeland seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson into executive session. Mr. Copeland seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson attended executive session. Mr. Copeland seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 9:07 p.m.

- H. Action Following Executive Session Mr. Mahon moved to adopt the final action on the termination of Mr. Joe Erazmus's supplemental contract. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 6-0.
- G. Executive Session Mrs. Garrow made a motion to go into executive session to discuss an individual employee's employment terms pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 9:26 p.m. Mrs. Garrow invited Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. Mr. Copeland seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 9:26 p.m.
- I. Adjourn Mrs. Coit adjourned the meeting at 9:28 p.m.

Mrs. Heather Coit, President