McLouth USD 342 Board of Education Special Board Meeting April 24, 2024

A. Call the Meeting to Order – President Heather Coit called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

B. Roll Call

Board members present: Mrs. Heather Coit, Mr. James Copeland, Mrs. Tara Garrow and Mr. Terry Reiling Board members absent: Mr. Tony Barnes and Mr. Paul Haverkamp Also present: Mr. Jerome Johnson, Mrs. Lorie Patterson, Mr. Alan Hibdon, Mrs. Melissa Miller and Mr. J.D. Nelson

- **C.** Approval of the Agenda Mr. Copeland moved to approve the agenda as presented. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 4-0.
- D. Executive Session Mrs. Garrow made a motion to go into executive session to discuss potential hires pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 5:10 p.m. Mrs. Garrow invited Mr. Hibdon, Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 4-0. Mr. Hibdon, Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson attended executive session.

Mr. Haverkamp arrived and entered executive session at 5:03 p.m.

The board returned to open session at 5:10 p.m. Mr. Copeland made a motion to return to executive session to discuss potential hires pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 5:15 p.m. Mr. Copeland invited Mr. Hibdon, Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Hibdon, Mr. Johnson, Mrs. Miller and Mr. Nelson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 5:15 p.m.

- E. Action Following Executive Session Mr. Reiling moved to hire Ms. Jennifer Buck as a sixth grade teacher for the 2024-2025 school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Reiling moved to transfer Mrs. Johnna Bradford to high school language arts for the 2024-2025 school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Reiling moved to hire Mr. Jacob Larsen as a middle school math teacher and head high school boys' basketball coach for the 2024-2025 school year. Mr. Haverkamp seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Reiling moved to hire Mr. Troy Hoffman as a high school math teacher for the 2024-2025 school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Reiling moved to hire Ms. Brittany Sowers as an elementary teacher for the 2024-2025 school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Reiling moved to hire Ms. Brittany Sowers as an elementary teacher for the 2024-2025 school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Reiling moved to hire Ms. Brittany Sowers as an elementary teacher for the 2024-2025 school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Reiling moved to hire Ms. Seth Mills as the head middle school boys' basketball coach for the 2024-2025 school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Reiling moved to hire Ms. Victoria Johnson as the head middle school girls' basketball coach for the 2024-2025 school year. Mrs. Garrow seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- D. Executive Session Mrs. Garrow made a motion to go into executive session to discuss employee compensation pursuant to the non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open meeting will resume in the boardroom at 5:25 p.m. Mrs. Garrow invited Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson into executive session. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Johnson and Mrs. Patterson attended executive session. The board returned to open session at 5:25 p.m.
- E. Action Following Executive Session Mr. Haverkamp moved to approve ESSER premium pay for the recruitment and retention of staff for second semester in the amount of \$500. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0. Mr. Haverkamp moved to provide Keystone with ESSER funds to be used for premium pay for the recruitment and retention of their staff in our buildings for second semester. Mr. Reiling seconded. Motion carried 5-0.
- F. Adjourn Mrs. Coit adjourned the meeting at 5:38 p.m.

Mrs. Heather Coit, President